Henrik Stenson Claims Dubai Title

Henrik Stenson’s Sunday 65 got him into a tie for ninth and allowed him to win the Race to Dubai title for the second time in his career.

Stenson amassed 5.289 million points in just 16 events to easily outpace second-place Danny Willett, who finished with 4.419 million in 25 events.

Stenson’s fellow Swede Alex Noren finished third with 3.995 million, followed by Dubai runner-up Tyrrell Hatton at 3.690 million.

Rory McIlroy was fifth at 3.337 million and Dubai winner Matthew Fizpatrick was sixth at 2.715 million.

Stenson also won the title in 2013. He broke McIlroy’s two-year run as champion.

His success in his 16 events this year was remarkable. He finished in the top 10 11 times. He won twice – the BMW International Open in June and The Open championship in July, his first Major.

He finished second three times and third once. He ended the year with six straight Top 10 finishes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s