Seven in the Hunt for Race Title

The European Tour is getting exactly what it wanted out of the DP World Tour Championship, the overall Race to Dubai title still within reach of a whopping seven players.

The seven are Rory McIlroy, Danny Willett, Justin Rose, Shane Lowry, Louis Oosthuizen, Branden Grace, and Byeong Hun An.

Any of those seven, save An, can finish first or second to win. An can only win with a victory.

McIlroy still leads the whole thing by the slimmest of margins, just 1,613 points in a contest where golfers score in the millions over the course of a season. Willett had a chance to take the lead outright if he could have finished in sole possession of 28th place at the BMW Masters last weekend, only to finish tied for 28th instead.

McIlroy won the Series in 2012 and finished second behind two-time defending champion Henrik Stenson last year, missing a couple of events as he dealt with legal hearings in a lawsuit orchestrated by his former representation.

McIlroy has amassed 3.394 million points to Willett’s 3.392 million, although McIlroy has played just 11 events to Willett’s 22.

Rose is third with 2.743 million, followed  by Lowry  (2.691 million), Oosthuizen (2.656 million), Grace (2.556 million), and An (2.139 million).

An, who turned 24 just two months ago, had four first-place finishes and one win – the BMW PGA Championship – during the regular season, but has been fantastic in the Final Series, taking fourth at the Turkish Airlines Open, 19th at the WGC-HSBC Champions, and tying for third on Sunday.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s