US Seeking 4th Major Win in August

Jordan Spieth’s dreams of a calendar-year Grand Slam might have been cut short two weeks ago at The Open Championship, but his country’s remain intact.

With Spieth winning the first two Majors of the year and Zach Johnson winning the third, the United States is poised to become the first country to produce all four Major winners in the same season since doing likewise in 1982.

That season, Craig Stadler won the Masters, Tom Watson the US and Open Championships, and Raymond Floyd the PGA championship. Since then, the US has had three winners in the same year a whopping 15 times, but never won all four.

The last time the US produced players who won the first three Majors of the year in order was 1998, When Mark O’Meara took The Masters, Lee Janzen the US Open, and O’Meara the Open Championship before Vijay Singh grabbed the PGA Championship.

The US also produced the first three winners in 1995 when Ben Crenshaw took The Masters, Corey Pavin the US Open, and John Daly The Open Championship, only to have Steve Elkington win the PGA title.

Prior to 1982, producing all four Major winners was rather routine for the US, which did it in 1946, 1953, 1964, 1966, 1971, and the remarkable stretch of 1975-1977, a streak that actually encompassed 13 straight Major wins by US players including the 1974 PGA title.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s