Spieth, McIlroy Lead ESPY Nominations

ESPN’s ESPY awards return to television in mid-July and voting is currently opening on the media giant’s website, with a host of golfers in the mix for some of the golden trophies.

American comedian Joel McHale, a huge fan of the NFL’s Seattle Seahawks, who played football and was on the rowing team at the University of Washington, will host.

The finalists for male golfer of the year are Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, and Billy Horschel in what will be a two-man race between Spieth and McIlroy. Spieth would seem to have the advantage in the largely-American voting population, as his two Majors came recently, and McIlroy’s last summer early fall.

McIlroy previously won this award in 2011.

Spieth is also nominated for Breakthrough Athlete, along with female Little League pitcher Mo’ne Jones, Ohio State quarterback Cardale Jones, and NFL wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr.  Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win this one, doing so in 1997.

The awards are broadcast on July 15.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s