Five Finalists Named for PGA Player of the Year

World No. 1 Rory McIlroy and FedEx Cup winner Billy Horschel are among the five finalists named for PGA Player of the Year.

The award will be announced on September 28.

McIlroy seems a virtual lock tow in the award. He entered 17 events, won three of them, including two Majors, finished first on the official money list, third at the FedExCup and led the tour with 12 top-1o finishes.

The only potential challenger to McIlroy would be Horschel, who finished the season with back-to-back wins in the FedExCup to take the overall title. Horschel is only the sixth player to win multiple FedExCup events in the same season, and finished third at another FedEx tournament.

Other candidates for the award are Martin Kaymer, Bubba Watson and Jimmy Walker.

Kaymer became the first player to ever win the US Open and the PLAYERS title in the same year.

Watson won the Masters for a second time and had eight top-10 finishes, a career high.

Walker won three events, led the FedExCup standings for a record 30 straight weeks and finished in the top 10 of 10 events.

Three men have been named finalists for Rookie of the Year – Victor Dubuisson, Chesson Hadley and Brooks Koepka.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s