Zac Blair Bashes Putter on Head, DQ’s Self

Zac Blair got a bit bent out of shape after missing a putt during Friday’s second round of the Wells Fargo Championship. The aftermath cost him a spot in the tournament.

Blair broke an obscure rule – use of a non-conforming club (Rule 4-3b) after his putter was ruled out of form. it got that way when he knocked himself in the head after missing a putt.

He used the putter again immediately after the temper tantrum to finish the hole, then noticed it was bent. Rather than ignore the fact, Blair approached a tournament rules official and explained the situation to him.

Blair likely would have been hard-pressed to make the cut even without his snap. He was 7-over at the time of disqualification after shooting a 3-over 75 on Thursday.

Rickie Fowler heads to Sunday leading the tournament by one stroke.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s