Barclays Win Guarantees Fat Check, Top 10 Finish for Mahan?

First the bad news for Barclays champion Hunter Mahan. Only one golfer in the seven-year history of the FedExCup has won both the first tournament of the four-week playoff and the overall title.

That man? Vijay Singh, who won the Barclays and the Deutsche Bank Championship in 2008 en route to the title.

Now the good news for Mahan. Of the other six men to win the Barclays since the Cup’s inception in 2007, not one has finished lower than eighth in the overall final standings, and the worst payday among those six is Health Slocum’s “meager” $600,000 in 2009.

Slocum finished eighth overall that year, the lowest finish by a Barclays winner.

The last three Barclays winners – Adam Scott, Nick Watney and Dustin Johnson, have all finished fourth overall, each collecting a check worth $1.5 million.

In 2010, Matt Kuchar won the Barclays and wound up second overall, winning $3 million.

Steve Stricker did likewise in the inaugural 2007 Cup.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s