Henrik Stenson’s Open Win: By the Numbers

18 July 2016, Posted by , , , , 0

Here are some of the more interesting statistics and bits of trivia from Henrik Stenson’s record-setting win at the 145th Open Championship.

-20: Henrik Stenson’s final score tied Jason Day’s record for the lowest cumulative score at a Major. Day shot 20-under at the 2015 PGA Championship.

4: Consecutive Major winners who are first-timers: Stenson, Dustin Johnson (US Open), Danny Willett (Masters), Jason Day (2015 PGA Championship) are all first-time winners. The last time that happened was 2010-2012 when there were nine straight first-time winners: Graeme McDowell (2010 US Open); Louis Oosthuizen (2010 Open Championship); Martin Kaymer (2010 PGA Championship); Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters); Rory McIlroy (2011 US Open); Darren Clarke (2011 Open Championship); Keegan Bradley (2011 PGA Championship); Bubba Watson (2012 Masters); Webb Simpson (2012 US Open).

1: All-time Majors won by Swedish players. Stenson is the first. He is also the first player from any Scandinavian country to win one.

63: Stenson joined Johnny Miller as the only players to record a 63 in the final round of a Major. Miler did it 43 years and one month to the day before Stenson did, at the 1973 US Open. Not surprisingly, he also won the tournament. It’s just the 29th 63 in Major history, but the second of the Open Championship after Phil Mickelson’s 63 in the first round on Thursday.

-17: Mickelson’s -17 under was the lowest score not to win The Open in history, breaking the mark held by Chris DiMarco (-16) set at the 2006 Open. DiMarco lost by two strokes to Tiger Woods.

Share : Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on PinterestShare on LinkedinShare on GooglePlus