Willett’s Win Continues Euro Equality at Masters

19 April 2016, Posted by , 0

Danny Willett’s win at Augusta National last week might have been the first by a UK native in twenty years, but it continues a recent trend that has been seen just one other time in the eight-decade history of The Masters: Equality between the Americans and their foreign invaders.

In the 10 years since 2007, US golfers have won the Masters five times and foreign golfers have won it five times.

The only 10-year period in Masters history where foreign players did better was between 1988-1997 when they won seven of 10.

In the last decade, the US has scored wins from Zach Johnson (2007), Phil Mickelson (2010), Bubba Watson (2012, 2014) and Jordan Spieth (2015).

Meanwhile, the foreign wins have come from all over – South Africa’s Trevor Immelman (2008), Argentina’s Angel Cabrera (2009), South Africa’s Charl Schwartzel (2011), Australia’s Adam Scott (2013) and Willett  (2016).

The only better time for the foreign crowd was in the late 1980s and early 1990s, basically the time just before the coming of Tiger Woods.

The US won just three Masters between 1988-1997; Fred Couples in 1992, Ben Crenshaw in 1995 (his second), and young Tiger in 1997.

Meanwhile the foreigners were spreading the wealth among Scotland’s Sandy Lyle, England’s Nick Faldo (thrice), Wales’ Ian Woosnam, Germany’s Bernhard Langer, and Spain’s Jose Maria Olazabal.





Share : Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on PinterestShare on LinkedinShare on GooglePlus